Idaho law provides many cases in which your license may be suspended or revoked, including reckless driving, accumulating more than twelve points on your driver’s license for violations within a twelve-month period, failing to pay your traffic tickets and even failing to pay a valid civil judgment. Regardless of the reason your license was suspended or revoked, continuing to drive without a license will land you in even more legal trouble. Some people are in the penitentiary for doing so.
Driving without a valid driver’s license is a misdemeanor under Idaho law. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended, revoked, or disqualified license, you face a mandatory jail sentence of two days to six months and a fine of up to $1,000. You will also have a court-ordered driving-privilege suspension of 180 days following the end of your current suspension, revocation, or disqualification.
If this is your second conviction for driving without a license within the past five years, the sentence includes a minimum of twenty days and a maximum of one year in jail, a maximum fine of $1,000, and an additional license suspension of one year. If it’s your third offense within five years, the sentence is a minimum of thirty days and a maximum of one year in jail, a minimum fine of $3,000, and an additional two-year license suspension.
In some cases, Idaho residents charged with driving without a license may be eligible for work release or community service as an alternative to jail time.
It’s fairly common for insurance providers to drop coverage while your license is suspended, so you may also be charged with driving without insurance. The penalty for driving without the state required insurance coverage is a $75 fine for the first offense and fines of up to $1,000 for any subsequent offenses. You will also be required to file an SR-22 as proof of financial responsibility and may face up to six months of jail time.
Once you’re finally eligible to have your driving privileges reinstated, you’ll need to fill out a new driver’s license application and pay a $25 fee. There is an additional $60 fee for license suspensions related to driving under the influence or other serious traffic convictions.
Holzer Edwards Can Help
If you or someone you love is injured in a car accident caused by a negligent driver, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for medical care and other expenses. The skilled personal injury attorneys at Holzer Edwards are dedicated to representing Idaho residents who have been injured due to the negligent actions of others.